I’m back!

Hello Followers!

Yes it’s me, I’m back!

What a season! okay lets start with the good things! πŸ™‚ I’ve won my agegroup twice this year – something I never thought would happen! Once in a supersprint tri (not with the beginners, there was a novice distance as well) and in the Cycletta New Forest where I was 7th overall and first in my age group…. see…

I'm back That’s me, Nicole. First in my age group.:) Amazeballs!

I took nearly 20minutes off my tri time at Eton Dorny! I did my first sprint distance tri and then a second one where I took 18mins off from the first time! 152nd our of 229. Yeah that’s not looking great but most of them were guys LOL. 35th in my age group, with a time of 1:35:40. I can knock off that 5 mins easily next year and I’ll be looking to do sprint under 1:30 πŸ™‚

I’ve also run my first ever half marathon! Swindon is especially difficult as the first two thirds is up hill! But I did it! Despite having some nasty patela tracking issues that I’m still nursing more than a month later. Not a run nor a bike ride since the 12th of October! Urghhh I’m climbing the walls!

So the bad stuff since I’ve last communicated with you.
My kneecap doesn’t want to live in the groove that is it’s home. Apparently this is because my outside quad is too strong and is pulling it up and out when I tighten up.

I’ve had a sprained hamstring, that nearly put pay to the half marathon but I’ve got a great physio so that was okay. My bad foot is still twinging occasionally, but not enough to stop me. And lastly I’ve lost one of my training buddies, one of our dogs had to be put to sleep so I’ve got one less fitness helper in my life. 😦 (RIP Missy)

So with my bad knee I’m taking it slowly, but it means I can do some much needed foundation work. I have discovered Kettlebells!

Mine look like this but not so bright in colour. So when you flick it over your wrist and you stuff it up, you don’t end up with a bruise as it’s concave. (Ouch!) But they are fantastic, great for glutes and hamstrings!

I’d recommend them, and oh my goodness to they raise your heart rate! πŸ™‚ I can get up to 180bpm doing double arm swings alone!

So I’ve been in a bit of a funk for a couple of weeks, no training and missing my little girl. It was so bad that MadSwimCoach stopped my set on Tuesday saying I was doing the distance but not the set. I could have cried. He asked me if I wanted to get out! 😦 So I had a one to one with him on Friday where he kicked my arse! And oh my god is that what I needed. Starting to get my mojo back. I can feel the issues with the swim so hopefully that’ll be back on track and I’ve taken a step up so I’ve changed my swim sets, now I swim on a Monday with my lovely husband (who’s not doing anything today, very unusual – he has the man flu!) so I’m hoping that’ll be great! πŸ™‚

So that’s where I am now πŸ™‚ Better foundation and healing nicely in the knee. Just have to pick everything up slowly now. Hoping I wont miss out on silverstone half again this year.

I’m cleared to do 40minutes of cycling today πŸ˜€ YAY! I’m looking forward to that!

I’ll try to keep in touch better πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

